My niece will spend Christmas in Afganistan

I am going out of my mind. I just can’t process the info I received.

I just spoke with my niece Christina. All 5 ft, 95 lbs of her will be shipped off to Afganistan Dec 6th as an Intel Officer for the Army. She doesn’t speak a word of their convoluted language and I think her M16 weighs almost as much as she does. This pic was taken at her 21st birthday party two years ago. Thats her brother, the high-school sophmore, and yes he is taller than her.

This god-forsaken war has now become personal. God help George Bush because I am one highly pissed off american. She has been told she will be there at least a year. I am going to go have a nice cry now.

About Dusty, hells most vocal bitch

I am a..brown Cali bitch that is quite the opinionated,political, pain-in-the-ass, in your face kinda girl that also loves baseball and music to a fault. Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe.--Albert Einstein-*

Posted on November 25, 2006, in Politics. Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. My nephew, Michael, is a career soldier. He’s become pretty adept at getting himself assignments that keep him from being deployed. Here’s hoping that your niece will be given a safe job in Afghan.

  2. Your neice will be in my prayers Dusty, as will all who don’t belong there. And there is no disrespect meant to the brave souls over there fighting, but God, what are they fighting for? An ego that hasn’t been completely fed yet? The man is insane and should be removed, imprisoned! I too, am angry and will stay focused because we have to light a fire under Congress’s butts to take action now…NOT 6 months or a year from now. But RIGHT NOW!!! This is nothing less than a nightmare.Iraq is sending us a message and it’s loud and it’s clear…”Americans GET OUT!!!” Now we have to wait for this new trial where 9 Generals are testifying that this war will have no winners and we should not have even gone in, in the first place.With every set back, more lives are lost. When are the Democrats that we voted in ‘for change’ going to start implementing it? Time is running out.Peace?!?!?!

  3. She is so beautiful. I am so sorry this is happening. It is painful, I know and it is also crazy making. Take care.

  4. What is she going to do with all of that beautiful long blonde hair?

  5. Rusty, I have an old and very dear friend in Afganistan. In fact, his daughter is Katty Kay of BBC News. He makes contact when he can. He was in 4 wars and believes we have no business over there, but is working with/helping the children in Afganistan. In fact, he’s still fighting Malaria from a previous war that is ongoing.Just wanted to mention this to you. When the time comes, if I can be of any help?Peace!

  6. My dear Lady, thank you so much for your prayers and thoughts. I will blog about her quite a bit, I am sure. Mary, I am a little more calmed down now, it was rough talking to her today from her base in GA.SR, I didn’t ask about her beautiful hair. She has always had it long, even when she played softball in highschool and college.She has promised to stay in touch, by email mostly. She tried to sound upbeat, but she also sounded nervous. She is a fantastic kid..who won’t be a kid much longer I guess…

  7. Jon, I wish my niece had not enlisted. I tried so hard to talk her out of it. The recruiter told her she “probably” wouldn’t go to Iraq..but he never said anything about Afganistan. She is so young, so tiny. I am just so sad.

  8. You have my sympathies Dusty. I know it’s an impossible request, but try not to worry, it won’t help you or your niece.And as soon as you get the cry out, grab the old baseball bat and apply a little wood to the side of Dub’s head.If you need to talk, you know where to find me.

  9. I am soooo sorry to hear this. I know exactly how you are feeling. We will all think good thoughts for her. Go get a picuture of the Dub and like Poobie says…beat the hell out of it and call him vile names…it helps! I talk to the TV all the time…and when they say stupid things…I call them on it…and wear regularly at them too. Dub knows who I am…no way to miss me.

  10. I have railed against Bush enough the last two days to have the NSA knocking at my front door. I am more realistc now, just hoping she is as prepared as she can be for this tour of duty. Shes a smart girl and I can only hope her intellgience serves her well.Thanks Sumo you made me laugh, and Poobie..I surely do know where to find you..but I am much better now..thanks m’dear 🙂

  11. Our thoughts are with you and her.My girlfriends Brother is there and is on his 3rd tour. Doesn’t look like he’s coming back soon ; (Emails are sporadic at best. He won’t say, but must be in the thick of it.

  12. Coffee, the multiple tours are going to bite us in the ass, those guys just can’t handle the emotional damage inflicted by numerous tours over there. It breaks my heart to hear about them.

  13. I am very sorry to hear that Dusty.She is very beautiful.Let’s all hope that she is stationed in a fairly peaceful area of Afghanistan.

  14. Lets hope she doesn’t come back looking 20 years older than she is. We can also hope she is physically and emotionally in one piece Peter. Its an uphill battle I am told for the females over there.

  15. My nephew [21 yrs old] is there now, too. He’s been there since August. My sister took it pretty hard. He’ll hopefully be home by next summer, but there’s no telling.Your niece will be in our prayers along with my nephew, Dusty.

  16. Chari..thank you my sweet friend. They all need to be home..no more death and broken bodies..for the love of god.

  17. I’m very sorry to hear about your niece. She will be in my thoughts (I’d say prayers but since I don’t pray….). Let us hope she can do something good while she is there and she will come home safe.

  18. Thanks Mike 😉 I appreciate your thoughts believe me.

  19. My brother has done three tours so far: two in Afghanistan, and one in Iraq, so I know what you mean when you say that the war has become personal.I will be praying for her safe keeping, as I pray for everyone in those war torn countries, American or otherwise.

  20. Thanks Ms.Liberty, your a peach m’dear 🙂

Leave a Reply

