The Healthcare Wars


It seems to me that the folks who have insurance are now the ones that do not want health insurance reform.

It’s the “I got mine, fuck the rest of you” scenario.

So The Big O hasn’t done a very good job of explaining to those folks how healthcare reform will benefit them.

I have come to this conclusion after watching quite a few of the townhall meetings recently. Arlen Specter is holding one live right now on MSNBC. Everyone who is speaking against healthcare reform has insurance.

Now, I am not saying ALL people who have insurance are against healthcare reform..just that that bulk of folks against it already have health insurance.

This pisses me off. A lot.

I did not have health insurance for over 20 years. During that time my spine started falling apart. If I had had basic health insurance, a doctor could of dealt with the problem before it reached the stage it is now..permanently fucked up.

I am sick of the ‘I got mine, fuck everyone else’ mantra. Selfish bastards need to suck it up and deal.

And The Big O has to do a better job of explaining how reforming the system will help those that already have health insurance.

About Dusty, hells most vocal bitch

I am a..brown Cali bitch that is quite the opinionated,political, pain-in-the-ass, in your face kinda girl that also loves baseball and music to a fault. Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe.--Albert Einstein-*

Posted on August 11, 2009, in healthcare reform. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I have it Dusty and haven't been to a regular MD in years. I want it so I can move to the ranch 300 south of here where the winters are much milder. It would be very tough to find a job there but I can't take a chance on doing it without health insurance.

  2. Hey, One Fly!

    I just don't understand how folks like my sister and her friends are all bitching about reforming healthcare. They call it change for the lazy, and thats wrong..its for people that either can't afford to get their own, or because of pre-existing conditions..like my spine..no insurance company will sign them up.

    Of course I totally get that we all have to pay our way, and we all want healthcare..it won't be free and the folks that make over 250K a year will be footing most of the bill.

  3. It's hard to explain what's in the bill when it's not yet finished.
    But Obama needs to stop taklking to Americans like we are smart. He needs to use simple declarative statements:

    1. Insurance companies are ripping everyone off.
    2. If you don't like the US Post Office, you use FedEx or UPS–it'll be the same with insurance.
    3. We won't have a death panel.
    4. We wont be offering free abortions on demand.
    5. Repulicans are against health care reform because Big Insurance gives them millions.
    6. Bring another gun to a town hall meeting and you motherfuckers will NEED health insurance,

  4. I have health insurance. Kind of. It keeps shifting….. mostly money out of my wallet. 
    You pay premiums. Then you pay co pays for the Doc visit, co pay for the meds, and about a month later get a bill for 20% of the total bill. 

    Glasses are a kick. They pay 80% for the exam. Glasses are covered for like $79 bucks. My severe astigmatism requires special lenses that run about $300 bucks, plus frames– and rest assured, I ain;t buyin' no Gucci designer frames. In the end, I actually pay way more out of pocket. 
    I am an avid pro public option to the core person. 

    In fact my sign @ the Town Hall meeting said:

    got compassion?
    52 Million Americans
    with NO Health Insurance

    It was interesting to see the reaction of people who were clearly against it– some of them kind of bristled, kind of having a moment realizing they were not compassionate. 

    Here's my take on it….

    Of all the bullshit the government government spends money on, healthcare would be the most worthwhile. 

    It it means they have to bankrupt &  make obsolete war budgets, then so be it. 

    It's the damned people's money anyway. 

    Besides right now we just pay more & more for insurance that gives less and less, 
    to allegedly keep taxes low. 

    We need to pool togerher to demand better from the Wealthcare system. 

    We have no system now. 

Leave a Reply

