Ah yes, 40 years ago..


I was only 16, but I heard about this wonderful outdoor concert in NY state. Of course I couldn’t go, my parents said I was nuts to even think of going as Northern Cali was a long-fucking-way away from NY state. I eagerly anticipated news from the gathering. Half a million hippies in one place?

Fucking awesome! Oh, to have been there.

The movie is on my telly now, as VH1 is showing it various times this weekend. Such good music, such memories it brings back. I loved that time in my life. Growing, exploring, becoming active in what was going on in my and our world. Realizing that power to the people could actually happen if we spoke as one voice. Speaking truth to power was exhilarating.

When the movie was released, I saw it too many times to count. I loved every minute of it.

The truth about Woodstock was, unless you stayed stoned for the entire event, it was wet, cramped, cold, muddy and you were constantly looking for food. Three people died and two were born that weekend on Max’s farm.

But let me just glamorized it one more time in my mind.

So let me get my hippie speedball on, and watch the movie whilst traveling down memory lane. You all have a grand Sunday. 😉

About Dusty, hells most vocal bitch

I am a..brown Cali bitch that is quite the opinionated,political, pain-in-the-ass, in your face kinda girl that also loves baseball and music to a fault. Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe.--Albert Einstein-*

Posted on August 16, 2009, in herstory, Woodstock 40th anniversary. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. i saw the less glamorous side.  i lived about 10 miles from bethel, and we would watch the helicopters landing in the jamesway parking lot so that people could be transfered by ambulance to the hospital. 

  2. you sound like a csny song
    LOL

    by time i got to woodstock, which was 50 miles away

  3. These were the good times Dusty for sure and we need some of that mentality back. It seems this administration is giving in on the public option.

Leave a Reply

