Dance with the one that brought you.

The Ball n’ Chain™ is a type 2 diabetic. He is also a diabetic that doesn’t pay attention to his disease. A couple of weeks ago, I got to sit in on one of his doctor appointments. He never lets me go, and I stopped asking a long time ago.

I was there because I was going to get my flu shots, but they were out of them. When they called the BnC’s name I just followed him into the examination room. His doctor is my doctor but Dr. Miller will not discuss the BnC’s health with me due to one of those laws that protects patient confidentiality. I can tell him things about the BnC but he can’t tell me.

Anywho..the Doc took the opportunity to drop the bomb that the BnC needed to go on insulin injections. The BnC became agitated and said no way no how, he has a phobia of needles. I then took the opportunity to tell him, quite loudly and in front of the Doc, that if he didn’t do what he had to, to say alive and somewhat healthy, I would be permanently relocating my ass somewhere else in the world besides Bakersfrigginfield. 

I was not going to watch him slowly die. Nope, I wouldn’t. He already is fighting glaucoma because he doesn’t take care of himself and his disease.

This made the Doc and the BnC sit up and take notice. The Doc said we could give it the old college try, meaning a strict diet and…cough..exercise for three months and see if that made a difference in his blood sugar levels.

So, we enrolled in some expensive classes that our insurance actually pays for..Wellness classes for diabetics.

We have attended two, two hour, classes this week. I have learned so much about his disease and sadly..so has he. Sad because he should of known some of those things, but like I said in the beginning..he never gave a shit because he thinks if you take a pill or two..or ten, then you can do whatever you want and the med’s take care of what ails ya.

He really jumped into the program with both feet. I am so proud of him..the old bastard actually walked for 15 minutes..uphill!

Baby steps..it’s all about baby steps.

Because I love that fat old bastard like you wouldn’t believe, and he worships my leftwing ass. These changes will affect my life too, but it’s worth it. It will actually be good for me to eat better and all the things that go along with taking better care of one’s self.We actually have a good reason to spend quality time together, discussing his meter readings and how to attack this disease that can slowly take his life.

I know..it’s not a political post..but fuck it. I wanted to praise the BnC so that everyone that reads this tripe knows he is making the effort after years, hell 15 years of neglecting his disease. And we will succeed. Because I hate to lose. And I refuse to lose this grand old fucker who actually is a good human being, former republican and a lazy, stubborn Okie.

About Dusty, hells most vocal bitch

I am a..brown Cali bitch that is quite the opinionated,political, pain-in-the-ass, in your face kinda girl that also loves baseball and music to a fault. Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe.--Albert Einstein-*

Posted on December 4, 2009, in The Ball n Chain™. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. best of luck to the bnc.  good for him for finally facing up to diabetes and fighting back, and lucky him for having you to help him.  i hope you'll keep us posted on his progress. 

  2. Thank you!  As a Type 2 with family who have suffered debilitating consequences because of ignoring their Type 2,  you did absolutely the most loving, constructive thing you could have done.

    Being diabetic is a pain in the ass.  I can't swear that I stay on my diet 100% of the time and the exercise has gone to hell since I left California for the midwest.  (Maybe you kind of kicked my butt as well?  Time get back on track!)  But the results are so worth it.

    My husband has been incredibly supportive of the changes in our family habits.  He has made all the difference.  Sounds like you are doing the same for your husband.

    Good luck to you both.

  3. Well its a damn good thing you went in to talk with the DR! My friend was almost blind from neglecting her type 2 but with many surgeries she is doing well today and can drive! She never had to go on insulin either. Type 2 is deadly and not taken seriously. Your hubby is lucky to have you and you need to stand firm!

  4. Great site, i will definately be back.

  5. I hope he stays with it. With me on his ass…he should. 😉

  6. I expect him to cheat occasionally. But when we go over shit together, he seems to have more of an interest. Thanks Debra! 🙂

  7. I will be firm..but when I go out of town..who knows what goes down?

  8. Best of luck with this!  I'm sure you're elated that he has finally been awakened to the seriousness of the disease.

  9. Every Ball 'n' Chain needs a good Warden like you. Best of luck to both of you.

  10. keep pushing him, become a pain in his butt if you have to…dont settle for his maintaining some minimal level of “just surviving”…there is no reason your BnC shouldnt come out of this feeling twenty years younger and stronger…

  11. i dont even know if its relevant to your BnC, but here's a heads up:

    Controversial Diabetes Drug Harms Heart, U.S. Concludes New York Times.

    GlaxoSmithKline suppressed information that use of Avandia led to heart attacks and heart failure, including intimidation and misrepresentation of the unfavorable findings….

Leave a Reply

