18 scoreless innings of baseball..

We interrupt our regularly scheduled policital bitchfest to bring you important baseball news…

Over seven friggin hours and a total of 20 innings. That is what it took for the Muts to beat the Cards Saturday.

What. A. Fucking. Game! For you aficianado’s here is the Box Score.

My sista in Springfield went to the game…her first Cards game. I don’t know if she stayed for all 20 innings but I doubt it…her ass and back would be killing her if she did. My son in OK watched it….and ate two meals and took a nap during the game. He kept texting me during the last 4 innings.

From the ESPN link:

It was the longest game in the majors since Colorado beat San Diego 2-1 in 22 innings on April 17, 2008.

St. Louis left the bases loaded in the 10th, 12th and 14th and stranded 22 runners, including 14 in extra innings. Molina caught the whole game and went 3 for 9.

It was the longest scoreless game in the majors since the Los Angeles Dodgers and Montreal Expos went 21 innings without a run on Aug. 23, 1989, according to STATS LLC. The Dodgers won that one 1-0 on Rick Dempsey’s leadoff homer in the 22nd.

Utilityman Joe Mather (0-1) became the first position player to lose a game since shortstop Josh Wilson for the San Diego Padres in a 9-6 setback in 18 innings against the Arizona Diamondbacks last June 7.

I watched the ’08 Pad’s/Colorado game..got over in the middle of the night as I recall.

Also, the Rockies had their first No-No of franchise history tonight..a great baseball Saturday!

About Dusty, hells most vocal bitch

I am a..brown Cali bitch that is quite the opinionated,political, pain-in-the-ass, in your face kinda girl that also loves baseball and music to a fault. Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe.--Albert Einstein-*

Posted on April 17, 2010, in Cardinals, Mets. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I watched the whole game from the comfort of my recliner. Yes. I am a man men can be proud of Dusty.

  2. Well I am proud of you Truth and I am a female! But I love my baseball sir..I can not lie. 😉

  3. I remember Fernando Valenzuela playing right field at Wrigley Field in day two of an extra innings game before they had lights. He would switch to left field when a lefty was at-bat.

Leave a Reply

