The Strat Pack: 50 years of the Fender Stratocaster

Non political post people….it IS Sunday ya know. 😉

I have always loved the Fender Stratocaster. So many fantastic musicians of my era (the 70;s-80s) played it. When my son said he wanted to learn how to play electric guitar..I ran out and bought the kid a Strat…went in hock up to my brown eyes…

Then there was the cost of lessons…not cheap. The kid evidently did not like lessons or practice time at home..he just wanted a very-fucking-expensive air guitar I guess.

I was crushed and sold that hot pink strat after six months of fighting w/the sub-teenage pain in my ass…but I digress..

Palladia had the three hour documentary on today, sadly I missed the first 45 minutes of it. But I can tell you that it is well worth seeing, if you are a music nut like moi. You can buy the dvd on Amazon, buy.com and other places. I couldn’t find another rebroadcast of it in the search function for Directv. There are wonderful artists that play their best music live like:

David Gilmour, Joe Walsh, Paul Rodger, Gary Moore, Phil Manzanera and a host of talented folks…one person is glaringly missing:

EC…Eric Clapton. But it’s still worth viewing/listening to.  I swear to Buddha. 😉

About Dusty, hells most vocal bitch

I am a..brown Cali bitch that is quite the opinionated,political, pain-in-the-ass, in your face kinda girl that also loves baseball and music to a fault. Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe.--Albert Einstein-*

Posted on June 27, 2010, in music for the soul. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Something to say????try and shut me up….That strat was a beauty.. I never saw anything like that one. I had a 1970 strat,red and American made.  I had a stroke a number of years later and had to sell all my Stuff.  I actually like a tele better.   The guitar you see me with is kind of a tele take off.  We went Guitar shopping last weekend and my wife bought me a Gretsch.  I love it! Plays different and sounds different than a strat but it's supposed to. A real throw back to the 50s.  I won'y keep you but you can talk guitars with me anytime. I love em..

  2. Ha I forgot to tell you my fav to play is Blues…Muddy all the way on up..

  3.  I bought my boy one of those cheap Fenders for $100 a couple years ago.  Okay. I really got it for myself and used him as an excuse cause I missed my old guitar. A Gibson that you could slide your fingers up and down like they were on the hottest, we, uh, never mind.

      Buy quality. This guitar sucks.   It has the high pitched, clean Fender sound but the frets are too high and it just plain hurts. And I only do chords.  Guys that play lead are awesome.

  4. Truth that cheap Fender was a squire I'm sure.  Even the more expensive Fenders you have to be careful. Only buy USA made ones. The others are made in Mexico.. The quality is just not there. A good Fender starts at 1000.00..
    Truth 101, what kind of Gibson?  They are awesome.  I was trying to buy a Hagstrum but couldn't find a dealer near me.  I stumbled on a Gretsch and I love it.  My old guitar was made as a one of a kind from parts. A friend of mine made it.  It has no equal…It's the one in my Picture.   Her name is Ana Marie…  The new one is Carly Jane.
    What can I say, I named my dick too… 😉

  5. Dude…that is my biggest love…da blues!!!! 😀 Thank you for that tidbit of your history..I knew there was a reason I heart you. 😉

  6. I guess you could say I got my son's guitar for the same reason Truth. 😉

  7. Well hell… my box has a name too dude!

  8. “Leo Fender's pride and joy, electric toy…” Ah, I love 'em. My strat is a '74 and she sings sweet tones like Jerry Garcia on Europe '72.

    Since I'm from Michigan, I'm also faithful to my Gibsons as well. Les Paul and Leo Fender carved the sound of Rock n Roll with huge sides of blues and country.

Leave a Reply

